One Glass is Never Enough by Jane Wenham-Jones

One Glass is Never EnoughOne Glass is Never Enough by Jane Wenham-Jones
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I have read Jane Wenham-Jones before I found this little chick-lit book for free on Amazon. However, they were her how-to-write non-fiction books. While they gave me an idea of her writing style, they gave me no indication on she does fiction writing.

I mentioned this was a chick-lit book, and it is, but it’s a very modern one.

The majority of the book is set in a wine bar owned by three ladies: Sarah (the head cook), Claire (the one with all the business sense), and Gaynor(the one with style and money). Claire and Sarah were friends before, and Sarah and Gaynor were friends, and that’s how they ended up opening a wine bar together.

As the story goes along there are little bumps in their lives. It never amounts to anything life-threatening, but they are life-changing events.

I said modern and then never specified that did I? Well, I’ll try to explain that without giving up too many spoilers. Gaynor’s husband stays away from home longer and longer, and she obviously doesn’t like it. While I was able to guess what was going on about halfway through…Gaynor was completely clueless.

Same thing with Sarah. She has a love interest, but two minor bumps happen to her as well. One that is never apparent until the end of the book. Claire, by far, has the easiest time of things, because her boyfriend basically gets in her face and talks sense into her.

While the book is supposed to be about all three women, Gaynor steals the spotlight and is what I would call the main character. All the storylines are tied up nicely at the end, and while I do like Jane Wenham-Jones writing style and the story was modern (which I like), chick-lit is not my favorite genre so I probably won’t seek out more by her…unless I find them free on Amazon again.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

