Pay Me In Flesh by K. Bennett

Pay Me in Flesh (Mallory Caine, Zombie-at-Law, #1)Pay Me in Flesh by K. Bennett
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’m not even sure where to start with this book. First, K. Bennett is a pen name of James Scott Bell, a lawyer and writer. I always question when writers do this, it confuses me. He’s published under K. Bennett and James Scott Bell. Why not stick to one name?

Anyway, this is not supposed to be about the author specifically, but about his book, a paranormal legal thriller. A hybrid book. The legal side of this book I have no offense with, he’s a lawyer it reads a bit like a light-hearted John Grisham sometimes.

But the paranormal bit about zombies, just keeps getting weirder.

It starts off with the zombie lawyer, Mallory Caine. We know this going into the book so it’s not a shock that there are other zombies hanging around and people who would want them eternally dead. Yes? From there, the rest just turns more and more…well unrealistic. Not that zombies happen in real life, but the beginning of the book makes that kind of play and then towards the middle sort of goes “Nope! Fooled you!”

The ending is abrupt, washes over all the major plot lines, and doesn’t really answer any of the big questions proposed at the beginning of the book. I suppose this is a trilogy, and I do like Mallory Caine, but I don’t want to be disappointed by another non-ending ending.

Also, the fact that Mallory Caine is so beautiful that two different men pursue her relentlessly even though she’s forcefully said no multiple times is a pet peeve of mine. Blechk. That’s bordering on stalking/rape culture which I definitely have strong feelings against.

I purchased this book at The Dollar Tree, so I guess I got my money’s worth.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

