Waking Up in Heaven by Crystal McVea

Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life AgainWaking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again by Crystal McVea

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

One of my co-workers loaned me this book, and it was a fairly easy read, and shorter than what I’m used to reading. But it’s also a non-fiction, Christian book, something I’m not used to reading either. Still, I must admit that I found myself tearing up as I reached the end of the book.

Crystal McVea lead a very hard and difficult life, she was abused, had an abortion, and had poor taste in men until she met her husband. I would not say that she wasn’t Christian, because she still yelled at God for what was happening to her and God was answering her prayers. To me she comes off a bit selfish in her beginning relationship with God. Then she died for nine minutes, and her life completely changed. She became a better person, a better Christian, and spread the word of God.

Those nudges she talks about? We all have them, random thoughts that pop into our heads for no reason. Most of them are just crazy nonsense we ignore, like the one that tells us to open a car door while traveling 80 mph down the highway. But what if some of them are a message from above? This isn’t a new concept, in Wicca it’s known as a Godphone, a direct connection to a deity, if you know how to answer it.

The last part of the book, the part where I teared up, was when Crystal starts sharing her story with church groups. The women she connected with, and finally understood that they weren’t alone in what happened to them, and could start the healing process because of it, that’s what made me cry. Not her experience, the knowledge that others weren’t alone, that they weren’t broken, that I think is the main message. No one is alone, no one is so broken that they can’t be loved.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

