Memories of Shel Silverstein (Part 01)

dscn1241

I’m sure everyone has heard the name Shel Silverstein before, and to me I first heard it while in school. On of the things my school would do is something called Declam, where all the grade school kids would be put upon to learn and recite a poem of some kind. As a shy, deathly afraid of public speaking, young child I hated it. However, I did like reading through all the poem choices we were given.

The only poem I can remember reciting is I Cannot Go To School Today by Shel Silverstein. Even now I can still recite the first couple of lines: I cannot go to school today, said little Peggy Ann McKay. I have the measles and the mumps, a gash, a rash, and purple bumps.

As a special treat (and because there are no good videos of anyone else doing it) here is a video of me reciting this poem. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

