Alex Cross’ Trial by James Patterson

Alex Cross's Trial (Alex Cross, #15)Alex Cross’s Trial by James Patterson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve been meaning to read from the Alex Cross series for awhile now (ever since the corresponding movie/series came to Netflix), but haven’t for reasons. So now I have, even though it is a book that is not part of the main timeline.

This book takes us back to Alex’s ancestor, Abraham, who is not the main character. In the early 1900s people of color were free from slavery, but not from segregation and prejudice….or lynchings. Our main character, Ben Corbett, is sent on a mission to Mississippi, his hometown, to define the extent of the racism going on.

There were points where I wondered if American history really was as bad as it’s depicted within the pages of this book, and it really made me upset at all the stuff the “bad people” were doing, even though I’m sure it was the normal thing to do at the time. Let’s just say I’m so glad that period of history is over, and that society has moved on (somewhat, there are still prejudices but at least the legal system isn’t quite so biased anymore).

Anyway, I enjoyed the book. I enjoy reading James Patterson. I need to read the rest of his books that I own.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Alex Cross’ Trial by James Patterson

  1. Pingback: 1st To Die by James Patterson | Author Sarah

Leave a Reply

