Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by H.P. Mallory

Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble (Jolie Wilkins, #1)Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by H.P. Mallory

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

It was interesting to see another person’s take on witches, warlocks, werewolves, vampires, demons, fairies and pixies. However…

I will forever and always get stuck on the “everyone want’s to have to sex with the heroine” gimmick and this book has it. I’m almost willing to forgive the author for this because 1) there is a plot point for her doing this and 2) she hints at there being another reason that isn’t fully explained in this book.

Anyway, I’ll run off the “another book” I mentioned. This is the first book in a series of books. The book ends at what is a good point plot wise, but sort of feels a bit anti-climatic…like the book should have had a better ending? I’m not sure how to put it into words. Our heroine feels better about her abilities, but the ending is very abrupt, or at least it seemed so to me. Yes, that was what I was trying to communicate.

You also get a chapter from another first book in a series at the end. I generally like fantasy books, but I also don’t like the “everyone sleep with the heroine” tactic either…

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

