Arms-Commander by L.E. Modesitt Jr

Arms-Commander (Saga of Recluce)Arms-Commander by L.E. Modesitt Jr.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I usually don’t have terribly high hopes for most of the books I pick up at the Dollar Tree, but this one surprised me.

First, the majority of the book is politics, battle strategies, and logic/rational. Second, it focuses on changing society’s view of women. While that might sound like a rather dry plot and story, it wasn’t. Not at all. The plot didn’t skip from battle to battle, and the entire was very well written.

This also happens to be the sixteenth installment in a series, but it really didn’t feel like it. As I read I didn’t feel like I had missed out by not reading the previous books (though after reading this one I want to find the rest of the series on Amazon) because the author did very well by filling in the gaps and briefly explaining why things were they way they were.

It was good, I liked the vein of women’s liberation that the book focused on (especially since I am female myself). I liked reading the battles as their strategies and techniques changed from fight to fight as the book carried on. For being such a thick ~800 page book, it really didn’t feel that long.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Arms-Commander by L.E. Modesitt Jr

  1. Pingback: Thrice Read Tag | Author Sarah

Leave a Reply

