Bullfinch’s Mythology by Thomas Bullfinch

Bulfinch's Mythology: The Age of Fable / The Legends of Charlemagne / The Age of Chivalry (Laurel Classic)Bulfinch’s Mythology: The Age of Fable / The Legends of Charlemagne / The Age of Chivalry by Thomas Bulfinch

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book is a very good introduction into mythology. I’ve had a long interest in mythology, Greek particularly, which had led me to already know many of the stories contained in this novel. I will admit that some of the myths were told in a new way to me, which made them new to me.

I’ve not had much experience with Norse mythology or the legends of Charlemagne, so both of those were quite fun to read as they were new to me. I’ve read the free little Amazon ebook on King Arthur and his Knights, so many of those myths were familiar, but I enjoyed rereading them again anyway.

However, I wasn’t impressed by the lengthy discussions on The Illiad, The Odyssey, Beowulf, and other epic poems. Granted, they are important pieces of mythology, but I feel that they should be studied on their own, not in collection with other mythological stories.

Overall, it’s a good introduction into mythology, and a good resource.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

